Runakanda Forest Reserve

Runakanda Forest Reserve and Prehistoric Caves (රූණකන්ද රක්ෂිතය සහ ප්‍රාග්ඓතිහාසික ගල්ලෙන්)

Runakanda is renowned as one of the largest rainforests in Sri Lanka, second only to the prestigious Sinharaja. Adorned with magnificent biodiversity, comparable to that of its counterpart, Sinharaja, Runakanda stands proudly as a testament to the natures gift on the island.

Read More
Kithulgoda Ganegodella Rajamaha Viharaya

Kithulgoda Ganegodella Rajamaha Viharaya (කිතුල්ගොඩ ගනේගොඩැල්ල රජමහා විහාරය)

According to legend as stated by an old resident of this village, During the period of king Parakramabahu, his minister, commander Prathiraja was assigned to cultivate the villages of Pasdun and Walallawita korales. While traveling from place to place and appointing village chiefs, he stopped for lunch in the shade of a Na tree on a hillock in Kithulgoda village.

Read More
Horana Ellekanda Wanahami Guhawa - හොරණ ඇල්ලේකන්ද වනහාමිගේ ගුහාව

Horana Ellekanda Wanahami Guhawa

Many legends associated with the Kingdom of Raigama are associated with Horana or Hiranyamalaya. One such place is Wanahami’s Cave. This cave is located in the Ellakanda Range above the town of Horana. It is believed that the history of this mountain range goes back to prehistoric times.

Read More
Kekunadola Rajamaha Viharaya (Prathiraja Pirivena) Tampita Viharaya

Kekunadola Rajamaha Viharaya (Prathiraja Pirivena) Tampita Viharaya (කැකුණදොළ රජමහා විහාරය (ප්‍රතිරාජ පිරිවෙන) ටැම්පිට විහාරය)

Kekunadola Rajamaha Viharaya (Prathiraja Pirivena) is said to built during the reign of king Parakramabahu VI (1411-1463) by a minister called Sri Wardhana Prathiraja. The current stupa and the Tampita Viharaya is believed to be the structures built by  him.

Read More
The 1st century BC slab inscription Bandaragama Rambukkana Rajamaha Viharaya

Rambukkana Rajamaha Viharaya – Bandaragama (බන්ඩාරගම රඹුක්කන රජමහා විහාරය)

Rambukkana rajamaha Viharaya is a small temple on the Horana – Panadura road close to Bandaragama. The temple remained insignificant until late last century when a large slab inscription was unearthed during renovation in 1997.  The inscription was badly damaged, but in 1998 Dr Raj Somadeva read some portions of the inscription.

Read More