Illukpitiya Rajamaha Viharaya and Malayadikanda Archaeological Ruins in Ampara (අම්පාර ඉළුක්පිටිය රජමහා විහාරය හා මලයඩිකන්ද පුරාවිද්‍යා භූමිය)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

Illukpitiya Rajamaha Viharaya (Malayadikanda Rajamaha Viharaya) is an ancient temple between Hingurana and Damana in Ampara district which is believed to be thousands of years old. Historian Ven. Ellawala Medhananda Thero has dated this temple complex along with the ruins on the Malayadikanda hillock to the reign of King Kavantissa of Ruhunu kingdom who ruled from 205 BC to 161 BC.

Ven. Medhanada Thero has reported 28–30 drip ledge caves and 9 rock inscriptions on the two hillocks surrounding the temple. The temple itself consists of a dilapidated stupa which has been plundered by treasure thieves several times, a cave temple, an ancient bodhigara, several natural rock pools and remains of ancient buildings scattered over the land.

The remains found on the Illukpitiya Rajamaha Viharaya along with the ancient stupa were declared a protected archaeological site by the Government with the Gazette issued on 26th December 2014, and describes the location as follows ;

All places with archaeological evidence including ancient Chaithya, cave complex with drip ledges and inscriptions and ruins of buildings at the premises of Ilukpitiya ancient Vihara belonging to Peranigama village situated in Grama Niladhari Division No. W/27/A, Peranigama in the Divisional Secretary’s Division, Damana in Ampara District in Eastern Province. (Latitude 07º21´ 210´´ N and longitude 81º66´ 47.8´´ E).

The drip-ledge caves and inscriptions is found on the Malayadikanda were declared as a protected archaeological site by the Government with the Gazette issued on 10th October 2014, and describes the location as follows ;

Drip ledged cave with inscriptions at “Malayadikanda” alias “Aranyakanda” in Madawalalanda village in Grama Niladari Division No. W/24/A Madawalalanda in the Divisional Secretary’s Division, Damana in Ampara District in Eastern Province. (latitude 07º 19879′ N and longitude 081º 68158′ E).

Also See

Map of Illukpitiya Rajamaha Viharaya

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Illukpitiya Rajamaha Viharaya

Route from Ampara to Illukpitiya Rajamaha Viharaya
Through : Hingurana
Distance :20 km
Travel time : 45 mins
Time to spent : 2 hours
Driving directions : see on google map


0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (76) 20-29 m (43) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (155) Ancient Anicuts (31) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (218) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (4) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (15) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events Articles (2) Flora and Fauna (48) Forts (49) Heritage (1608) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (50) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (46) Rock Inscriptions (1) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (239) Travel (3) View Points (16) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (23) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (21) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (202) Badulla District (113) Batticaloa District (20) Colombo District (73) Galle District (62) Gampaha District (57) Hambantota District (103) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (50) Kandy District (187) Kegalle District (151) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (168) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (83) Matara District (41) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (93) Mullaitivu District (20) Negombo (6) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (113) Puttalam District (33) Ratnapura District (156) Trincomalee District (47) Vavuniya District (30) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply