Akuressa Thalahagama Diya Bubula (තලහගම දිය බුබුල)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 3.50 out of 5)

Thalahagama is a village belonging to Matara District in the Southern Province. Thalahagama is popular for its natural water spring eternally flowing from a well.

If you are coming from Matara to visit Thalahagama Bubula, you will come through Thihagoda, Kamburupitiya and Ransagoda. From Ransagoda, you need to turn towands Thalahagama. If traveling from Galle, you should come to Akuressa and travel on the Makandura road to reach Thalahagama. The site is located 1 km down the Ransagoda road traveling from Thalahagama.

The Diya Bubula at Thalahagama (water spring) lies at the edge of a lush paddy field close to the road. Its not visible to the main road and insignificant foot path leads to the bubula and the paddy field.

There has been large overflowing spring in Thalahagama since ancient times. Due superstitions among the villages believing that the fountain sacrificed human lives, large logs were placed and trampled by elephants and sealed it. However once this spring was sealed, smaller springs have appeared in several places around it.

A few years ago, this water bubble was developed using concrete cylinders by the Talahagama village farmer’s organization. Even during severe droughts this water source has been a great comfort to the people of Talahagama and its surrounding villages such as Ukgas Hena, Kambi Adiya, Wilpita etc.

Although it is about 25 km away from the sea, some believe that this water spring is connected to the sea due to its slightly salty taste due to the mineral content. However this is popular bathing place for the travellers who visit this site.

Also See

Map of Akuressa Thalahagama Diya Bubula

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Akuressa Thalahagama Diya Bubula

Route from Galle to Akuressa Thalahagama Diya Bubula
Through : Southern Highway – Akuressa – Makandura – Mulatiyana
Distance : 50 km
Travel time : 1 hour 15 mins
Time to spend : 15 -30 mins
Driving directions : see on google map

© www.amazinglanka.com

0-09 m (79) 10-19 m (66) 20-29 m (41) 30-39 m (45) 40-49 m (23) 50-99 m (42) Ambalama (152) Ancient Anicuts (30) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Article (3) Attractions (197) Beaches (6) Botanical Gardens (3) Bridges (34) Caving (4) Church (6) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Flora and Fauna (43) Forts (48) Heritage (1604) Heritage Article (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Spring (9) Hydro Heritage (81) Irrigation Article (4) Islands (15) Kovil (25) Lighthouse (27) Memorial (28) Mile Posts (6) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (14) Pabbatha Vihara (10) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscription (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (18) Prehistory (37) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (43) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (23) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (9) Stone Bridges (18) Survey Tower (13) Tampita Vihara (238) Travel (3) View Points (9) Walawwa (12) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Article (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (19) Ampara District (124) Anuradhapura District (185) Avissawella (4) Badulla (2) Badulla District (102) Batticaloa District (19) Buttala (2) Colombo (5) Colombo District (62) Dambulla (5) Delft (5) Galle (1) Galle District (54) Gampaha District (35) Ganesh Kovil (1) Hambantota (4) Hambantota District (94) India (1) Jaffna (7) Jaffna District (54) Kalutara District (46) Kandy District (171) Kegalle District (106) Kilinochchi District (9) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (56) Kurunegala (5) Kurunegala District (90) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (46) Mannar Island (10) Matale (3) Matale District (61) Matara District (26) Mihintale (22) Monaragala (5) Monaragala District (71) Mullaitivu District (19) Nuwara Eliya (8) Nuwara Eliya District (107) Panama (1) Polonnaruwa District (106) Puttalam District (24) RAMSAR site (2) Ratnapura (8) Ratnapura District (139) Tissamaharama (2) Trincomalee (7) Trincomalee District (43) Vavuniya District (27) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) Wellawaya (6) Wewalwatta (4) Yala (1)

Leave a Reply