Korasagalla Wewa Biso Kotuwa Ruins (කොරසගල්ල වැව බිසෝ කොටුව)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (3 votes, average: 2.33 out of 5)

Korasagalla is an ancient village on the Thalawa road a few kilometres away from Kakirawa. History of the Koranaka Sandagala Tampita Rajamaha Viharaya in  Korasagalla is believed to go back as far as the reign of King Kawanthissa (around 205–161 BC). It is also said that when the king Dutugemunu (161-131 BC)  was bitten by a cobra, he was treated by snake venom specialists from the Korasagalla and ayurvedic physicians from this lineage still live in this village.

This village temple is somewhat neglected but hides an ancient Tampita Viharaya from the Kandyan Era. According to legend, this temple was the residence of an arhat called  “Korana” in ancient times and the temple has been named after him. Travelling 200 meters past this temple lies the ancient Korasagalla Wewa (reservoir) as old as the village. Unfortunately, this large reservoir was drained some years ago and about 600 acres of paddy fields have been abandoned which depended on water from this reservoir.

To reach this reservoir from Dambulla, travel 17km from Dambulla towards Kekirawa to reach the Korasagalla Junction in Thibbotuwewa and take the by lane to the right. The reservoir lies 1.4 km down this road.

Travelling 200 meters on the now-neglected footpath along the edge of the reservoir will bring you a well-preserved ancient Bisokotuwa of the Korasagalla Wewa. An Archaeology board at the end of the Korasagalla Road direct you to this site. This is a neglected footpath thus you might need a tool to clear the path as you walk along.

Also See

Map of Korasagalla Wewa Biso Kotuwa Ruins

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travelling directions to Korasagalla Wewa Biso Kotuwa Ruins

Travel directions from Dambulla to Korasagalla Wewa Biso Kotuwa Ruins
Distance : 18.5  km
Travel time : 35 mins
Time to spend : 30 mins
Driving directions : see on google map

© www.amazinglanka.com

0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (77) 20-29 m (46) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (160) Ancient Anicuts (33) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (225) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (5) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events (2) Flora and Fauna (74) Forts (49) Heritage (1625) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (87) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (53) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (37) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (48) Rock Inscriptions (9) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (13) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (240) Tourist Attractions (198) Travel (3) View Points (18) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (26) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (20) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (212) Badulla District (118) Batticaloa District (22) Colombo District (79) Galle District (63) Gampaha District (60) Hambantota District (117) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (51) Kandy District (201) Kegalle District (158) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (85) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (170) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (86) Matara District (44) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (101) Mullaitivu District (21) Negombo (5) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (119) Puttalam District (35) Ratnapura District (161) Trincomalee District (49) Vavuniya District (31) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply