Angammedilla Gal Amuna / Rajabemma at Polonnaruwa (පරාක්‍රම සමුද්‍රයට ජලය සපයන අංගම්මැඩිල්ල ගල් අමුණ)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (8 votes, average: 3.13 out of 5)

Angammedilla Gal Amuna (Angammedilla Anicut, Angammedilla Stone Weir) also known as Rajabemma creates one of the main feeders to Parakrama Samudraya. This amuna is credited to King Parakramabahu (1153-1186) who had tapped the water of Amban Ganga (river) to his Parakrama Samudraya Reservoir.

The weir has been built on a rock bed which the river flows over. A large channel has been cut across the rock to provide stability and strengthen the massive foundation of a block of rocks. Large holes cut into the rock slab inside the channel indicate stone pillars which would have been used to strengthen the anicut.

Although this anicut has now disappeared, the protective wall along the right bank at the anicut built with massive blocks of stone still can be seen rising to about 10 feet.

The diverted water was carried to the Parakrama Samudraya over an 8 km long canal called Akasa Ganga.

Right before this weir, a large canal joins the river. The canal flows under the thick forest vegetation and the water is quite cold. Amban Ganga on the other hand flows over a rocky area void of any trees and brings a steam of warm water and one can feel the hot and cold streams within meters in the river.

The ancient weir at Angammedilla lies on the edge but inside the Angammedilla National Park. The areas where the two streams joined were accessible to the general public and were bathing and a camping ground. Vehicles were able to reach the river bed itself. However, with the popularity of the location and due to treasure hunting activities, access is now restricted and controlled under Angammedilla National Park authorities.

Also See

Map of  Angammedilla Gal Amuna (Rajabemma) at Polonnaruwa

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Angammedilla Gal Amuna (Rajabemma) at Polonnaruwa

Route from to Polonnaruwa town to Angammedilla Gal Amuna (Rajabemma)
Through : Parakrama Samudraya Bund
Distance : 20 km
Travel time : 30 minutes
Driving directions : see on google map


0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (76) 20-29 m (43) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (155) Ancient Anicuts (31) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (218) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (4) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (15) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events Articles (2) Flora and Fauna (48) Forts (49) Heritage (1608) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (50) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (46) Rock Inscriptions (1) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (239) Travel (3) View Points (16) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (23) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (21) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (202) Badulla District (113) Batticaloa District (20) Colombo District (73) Galle District (62) Gampaha District (57) Hambantota District (103) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (50) Kandy District (187) Kegalle District (151) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (168) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (83) Matara District (41) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (93) Mullaitivu District (20) Negombo (6) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (113) Puttalam District (33) Ratnapura District (156) Trincomalee District (47) Vavuniya District (30) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply