Galge Viharaya Ruins in Wilpattu – විල්පත්තුවේ ගල්ගේ විහාරය නටඹුන්

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 3.00 out of 5)
Galge Viharaya Ruins in Wilpattu
Galge Viharaya Ruins in Wilpattu
Photo courtesy of Kithsiri Gunawardena

Galge Viharaya is a generally known ruined area inside Wilpattu National Park. This temple has been a large aramic complex in the past with ruins covering a large area including a rocky outcrop inside the park. Number of drip ledge caves with some with still existing clay walls, ruins of stupa and bricks and rocks are scattered all over this area.

IUCN who carried out an archeological survey in Wilpattu National Park in the early 2000’s reports

A total of 68 archeologically important sites were recorded, four of which Miocene fossil sites. Twelve sites belonging to the prehistoric periods (Paleolithic and Mesolithic) were also surveyed. Several sites represent evidence of both pre-historic and historic periods. Forty two (Black & Red ware pottery sites, Burials, settlements, and monasteries) were identified as a combination of proto-historic and historical sites.”

A rock inscription of the site has placed this Aramaic complex to 1st century BC.  Yet no proper study or restoration has been carried out by Archaeology Department.

Since it is prohibited to get off the vehicles within the National Park, you will need special permission to explore this site.

Also See

Map of  Galge Viharaya Ruins in Wilpattu

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Galge Viharaya Ruins in Wilpattu (upto Wilpattu National Park Entrance)

Route from Colombo to Galge Viharaya Ruins in Wilpattu (upto Wilpattu National Park Entrance)

Though : Negombo – Puttlam
Distance :200 km
Travel time : 4 hours.
Driving directions : see on google map


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: