Kotagala Kotasara Sri Piyangalu Rajamaha Viharaya (කොටාගල ශ්‍රී කොටසර පියංගලු රජමහා විහාරය)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

After traveling 12 kilometers to Kekirawa and another 12 kilometers to Dambulla from Kekirawa in the District of Anuradhapura, Kotagala Sri Piyangalu Rajamaha Viharaya can be seen. This Viharaya flourished for hundreds of years and was worshiped by thousands of Buddhist devotees. the rock is 60 fathoms in height and contains over 30 cauldron caverns used by ancient Buddha’s disciples. The history of Piyangalu Rajamaha Viharaya extends to King Dutugemunu’s era. As per the ancient sources, there is written evidence of Buddhist monks who resided in this ancient Rajamaha viharaya at the time of King Dutugemunu, and also the Sri Maha Bodhi sapling implanted here for the homage of pious devotees remains in the adorned status.

Under the safe guardianship of the Wanasinghe bhikku generation, the Piyangalu viharaya later developed as a Raja maha Viharaya, and at present Venerable Kuda Kanthoruwe Siddhartha Thero acts as the chief incumbent of the viharaya who holds the pedigree of deputy sanganayaka of Kalagam division of the Malathu Chapter of Siam Nikaya. Entered the Buddhist order under the ex-chief incumbent venerable Unduruwa Pemananda Nayaka Thero, he was ordained in 1981 and became the chief incumbent in 1992. Since then as a result of gigantic development the Rajamaha Viharaya Sri Pemananda Pirivena was established which facilitates over 600 students thereby providing students with values and education.

Sri Pemananda Pirivena which originated in 1997 as a result of the unobstructed courage of the present chief incumbent Thero, has become the premier education center that facilitates students with Buddhist discipline and edification.

The prior arrangements of building the great Ran Seya in the 60-fathom height rock of Sri Piyangalu Raja Maha viharaya is in progress. This mammoth Stupa which is built in Kotasara rock depicts the pride of the Buddhists and the miraculous status of Buddhism will become a center that disseminates peace and loving kindness of our motherland and the world. Let’s actively contribute to this great effort of building Ran Seya thereby to cater the nation as a giant Buddhist power in the 21st century.

Source : ransaya.com
Images : www.piyangalu.org

Also See

Map of Kotagala Kotasara Sri Piyangalu Raja Maha Viharaya

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Kotagala Kotasara Sri Piyangalu Raja Maha Viharaya

Route from Colombo to Kotagala Kotasara Sri Piyangalu Raja Maha Viharaya
Through : Ambepussa – Kurunegalaga – Galewela – Dambulla
Distance : 160 km
Travel time : 3 hours.
Driving directions : see on google map

© www.amazinglanka.com

0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (76) 20-29 m (43) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (155) Ancient Anicuts (31) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (218) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (4) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (15) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events Articles (2) Flora and Fauna (48) Forts (49) Heritage (1608) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (50) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (46) Rock Inscriptions (1) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (239) Travel (3) View Points (16) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (23) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (21) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (202) Badulla District (113) Batticaloa District (20) Colombo District (73) Galle District (62) Gampaha District (57) Hambantota District (103) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (50) Kandy District (187) Kegalle District (151) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (168) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (83) Matara District (41) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (93) Mullaitivu District (20) Negombo (6) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (113) Puttalam District (33) Ratnapura District (156) Trincomalee District (47) Vavuniya District (30) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply