Nachchaduwa Wewa Reservoir

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (9 votes, average: 2.67 out of 5)

Mahagallaka Wewa Reservoir (today known as Nachchaduwa Wewa Reservoir) is considered to be one of the sixteen large reservoirs built by King Mahasen (276-303). Nachchaduwa lies just outside the city of Anuradhapura. Centuries later King Dhatusena (459-477) built a canal (Jayaganga) to bring water to this reservoir from Kalawewa. This reservoir is considered to be a bold scheme since huge flood water with very high velocity could come down the valley. The great chronicle Mahavamsa probably makes another reference to this reservoir during the time of King Moggallana II (535-555).

It is said that King Moggallana II, who lived 300 years later built the Passapatanavapi Reservoir by damming the Kadamba River (Malwathu Oya). This description matches well with Nachchaduwa. It is possible that Moggallana II could have expanded the work of Mahasen.

Nachchaduwa Wewa has three sluices to control its water levels. The main sluice is located near the southern end of the bund and releases water mainly to Tissa Wewa. The other two sluices release water to Nuwara Wewa.

According to H. Parker, Ancient Ceylon, “It was a bold scheme as floods estimated to amount to 11,000 cu ft per second were to be expected and there was no suitable rock over which they could be allowed to flow, but it was carried out successfully”

In 1906 the Irrigation Department took the responsibility to restore the reservoir which was ruined in the past. The Department also made further efforts in 1917 by improving the reservoir’s capacity. In 1957 the Great Flood caused severe damage to the reservoir, nevertheless, in 1958 the rehabilitation work was completed. Today it receives water from the Mahaweli System. The reservoir covers 1200 hectares ( 12 sq. kilometres) at full capacity.

Specifications of Nachchaduwa Wewa

Catchment623 Sq. Km.
Length of Dam1,646 m
Height of Dam11 m
Capacity55.7 millions cu. m
Primary Sources :

Also See

Map of  the Nachchaduwa Wewa

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Traveling Directions to Nachchaduwa Wewa

Route from Anuradhapura Town to Nachchaduwa Wewa
Through :
Distance : 21 km
Travel time : 30 minutes
Driving directions : see on google map


0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (76) 20-29 m (43) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (155) Ancient Anicuts (31) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (218) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (4) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (15) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events Articles (2) Flora and Fauna (48) Forts (49) Heritage (1608) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (50) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (46) Rock Inscriptions (1) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (239) Travel (3) View Points (16) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (23) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (21) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (202) Badulla District (113) Batticaloa District (20) Colombo District (73) Galle District (62) Gampaha District (57) Hambantota District (103) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (50) Kandy District (187) Kegalle District (151) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (168) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (83) Matara District (41) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (93) Mullaitivu District (20) Negombo (6) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (113) Puttalam District (33) Ratnapura District (156) Trincomalee District (47) Vavuniya District (30) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply