Nikasala Nuwara Tomb of King Vijaya at Kande Medagama Rajamaha Viharaya (නිකසළා නුවර විජය සොහොන)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 2.50 out of 5)

Medagama Kanda lies about 6 km south-east of Panduwasnuwara ancient Kingdom. At the top of this hill lies the ruins of an ancient dagoba conserved by the Department of Archeology in 1986. There is a strong belief that this stupa contains the remains of King Vijaya (543-505 BCE), the first in line of a royal dynasty which lasted over 2300 years.

The archaeology department which carried out carbon dating of the ashes found inside the stupa during conservation work has found that they are about 2,500 – 2,600 years old.

Kande Medagama Rajamaha Viharaya which lies at the bottom of the hill was built by King Devanampiyatissa (250-210 BCE) after he became a Buddhist after the visit of Great Mahinda Thero. It is said that the king built temples at every gauwa ( approximately 4 miles ?) and this is said to be one of such temples built by him. The excavation of the ruins of this temple has also exposed the remains of 2 stupas which were built by King Mihindu IV (956-972).

Just above the Raja Maha Viharaya, you can also find another cave temple built by King Wimaladarmasuriya (1592 – 1604) of Kandyan Kingdom. Few other caves with drip ledges around this main cave temple can be seen. According to the head priest, an inscription at the temple talks about the arthath priests dwelling in the caves of the temple. Therefore it could be that the name Niasala Nuwara originated from Ni-keles ( නි+කෙලෙස්) since this was the dwelling of those who achieved a purified mind.

To access the tomb, you need to climb up this hill from the temple below through virgin jungle paths with minimum directions. The tomb lies at the top of the hill which also gives an amazing view of the surrounding area.

Also See

Map of Nikasala Nuwara Tomb of King Vijaya at Kande Medagama Rajamaha Viharaya

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Nikasala Nuwara Tomb of King Vijaya at Kande Medagama Rajamaha Viharaya

Route from Colombo to Nikasala Nuwara Tomb of King Vijaya at Kande Medagama Rajamaha Viharaya
Through : Negombo – Madampe – Panduwasnuwara
Distance : 126 km
Travel time : 2.5 hours
Driving directions : see on google map


0-09 m (79) 10-19 m (66) 20-29 m (41) 30-39 m (45) 40-49 m (23) 50-99 m (42) Ambalama (152) Ancient Anicuts (30) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Article (3) Attractions (197) Beaches (6) Botanical Gardens (3) Bridges (34) Caving (4) Church (6) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Flora and Fauna (43) Forts (48) Heritage (1604) Heritage Article (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Spring (9) Hydro Heritage (81) Irrigation Article (4) Islands (15) Kovil (25) Lighthouse (27) Memorial (28) Mile Posts (6) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (14) Pabbatha Vihara (10) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscription (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (18) Prehistory (37) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (43) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (23) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (9) Stone Bridges (18) Survey Tower (13) Tampita Vihara (238) Travel (3) View Points (9) Walawwa (12) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Article (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (19) Ampara District (124) Anuradhapura District (185) Avissawella (4) Badulla (2) Badulla District (102) Batticaloa District (19) Buttala (2) Colombo (5) Colombo District (62) Dambulla (5) Delft (5) Galle (1) Galle District (54) Gampaha District (35) Ganesh Kovil (1) Hambantota (4) Hambantota District (94) India (1) Jaffna (7) Jaffna District (54) Kalutara District (46) Kandy District (171) Kegalle District (106) Kilinochchi District (9) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (56) Kurunegala (5) Kurunegala District (90) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (46) Mannar Island (10) Matale (3) Matale District (61) Matara District (26) Mihintale (22) Monaragala (5) Monaragala District (71) Mullaitivu District (19) Nuwara Eliya (8) Nuwara Eliya District (107) Panama (1) Polonnaruwa District (106) Puttalam District (24) RAMSAR site (2) Ratnapura (8) Ratnapura District (139) Tissamaharama (2) Trincomalee (7) Trincomalee District (43) Vavuniya District (27) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) Wellawaya (6) Wewalwatta (4) Yala (1)


Leave a Reply