Paramakanda Cave Temple at Anamaduwa – ආනමඩුව පරමකන්ද රජමහා විහාරය

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (4 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)
Anamaduwa Paramakanda Cave Temple

Buddha statue of Paramakanda Temple
source : /

source :

source :

The historic Paramakanda Temple and the cave monastery lies on the majestic and mysterious Paramakanda Rock in Anamaduwa belonging to the Putlam District.

The ruins indicate that the once the complex covered the whole rock formation. The cave temple is believed to be the work of King Walagamba ( 89-77 BC ). The inscription at Thonigala states this temple was built by a priest called Mahatissa thero during the King Walagamba’s time. The Temple complex contains number of caves and the rock it self is interesting due to the peculiar formations in different parts of the Rock.

  • closest town : Anamaduwa
  • Local Authority : Anamaduwa
  • District : Putlam

Also See

Map of Paramakanda Cave Temple

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites.

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Driving Directions to Paramakanda Cave Temple

The temple can be reached passing the Anamaduwa town, traveling from Kurunegala.

Distance from Colombo Galle Face to Paramakanda Cave Temple

Distance From Kandy to Paramakanda Cave Temple

Though : Chilaw ( Halawatha)
distance :140 km
Travel time : 2.5 hours
Driving directions : see on google map
Though : Kurunegala
distance :105 km
Travel time : 2 hours
Driving directions : see on google map

Posted in Heritage Tagged with: ,