Batticaloa Fort (මඩකලපුව බලකොටුව)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 1.00 out of 5)

The Fort in Batticaloa lies on one of the many small islands of Batticaloa on the east coast of Sri Lanka. It was built by the Portuguese in 1628 after a Dutch fleet landed in Batticaloa in 1603 with a fleet of six ships to take part in a joint effort to oust the Portuguese from the island after an initial agreement with the King of Kandy. This infuriated the Portuguese who had a firm holding in the Island and built a small fort in 1628. This fort was built when Constantino de Sa de Noronha was made captain-general by Damiao Botado when Bishop Governor Dam Frei Ruiz de Brito was governing the state of India.

This fort had two stretches of wall leading to the ramparts, each 16.5 meters in length; two others leading to the ramparts, each 13 meters long; the breastwork on the side of the fort was 19.2 meters and ends at 11 meters. The bastions had empty spaces 11 meters long. The height of this wall which is made of stone and lime was 2.7 meters with their parapets and 1.1 meters in width. Those walls form the two bulwarks which are filled up in the middle with mud.

This fort was captured by the Dutch in coalition with strong Singhalese forces on 18 May 1638 when King Rajasinghe of the Kandyan Kingdom requested them to banish the Portuguese from the country. The fort changed hands again in 1772 after it was surrendered to the British.

The fort is a structure of four bastions protected by the sea from 2 sides and with a moat from the other 2 sides. The fort has important ancient religious significance because of a Buddhist stupa with a Chatra dating back to the 1st century BC from the Ruhuna kingdom of King Kavantissa.

Map of Batticaloa Fort
Map of Batticaloa Fort


  • Abeyasinghe, T. B. H. , 1995, Description of Ceylon in the in the Book of the Plans of all the Fortresses Cities and towns of the State of Oriental India by ATNONIO BOCARRO Dedicated to the Most Serene Royal Majesty Philip IV of the Spains and III of Portugal our Lord the King February 17, 1635. . Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society of Sri Lanka , new series. 1995. Vol. 39
  • Baldaeus, P., 1672. ‘A true and exact description of the most celebrated East-India coasts of Malabar and Coromandel and also of the Isle of Ceylon. 1st ed. Amsterdam: Janssonius van Waasberge en van Someren.

Also See

Map of  Batticaloa Fort

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Driving Directions to Batticaloa Fort

Route from Colombo to Batticaloa Fort Route from Colombo to Batticaloa Fort
Through : Kurunegala – Polonnaruwa
distance :325 km
Travel time : 5.30 hours
Driving directions : see on google map
Through : Rathnapura – Beragala – Monaragala
distance : 400 km
Travel time : 6 hours
Driving Directions : see on google maps


0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (76) 20-29 m (43) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (155) Ancient Anicuts (31) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (218) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (4) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (15) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events Articles (2) Flora and Fauna (48) Forts (49) Heritage (1608) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (50) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (46) Rock Inscriptions (1) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (239) Travel (3) View Points (16) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (23) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (21) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (202) Badulla District (113) Batticaloa District (20) Colombo District (73) Galle District (62) Gampaha District (57) Hambantota District (103) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (50) Kandy District (187) Kegalle District (151) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (168) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (83) Matara District (41) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (93) Mullaitivu District (20) Negombo (6) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (113) Puttalam District (33) Ratnapura District (156) Trincomalee District (47) Vavuniya District (30) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply