Welikanda Mutugala Gallen Rajamaha Viharaya Archaeological Site (වැලිකන්ද මුතුගල ගල්ලෙන් රජමහා විහාරය පුරාවිද්‍යා භූමිය)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (5 votes, average: 2.20 out of 5)

Mutugala (or Mutugalla) is a small village at the intersection of two minor roads in the jungle about eight kilometers north of Manampitiya. The village lies close to the right bank of the Mahaweli River, at the edge of the Mutugalla villu.

Mutugala Villu is one of the 6 villus which hugs the Mahaweli Ganga River in the Polonnaruwa district. The others are Handapanwila, Bandiyawila, Karapola, Katuwanwila and Manampitiya. Villus are marshy areas that occur along river floodplains, occupying the natural river levees. Each villu consists of a saucer-shaped pool that is more or less filled with water throughout the year, and a marginal floodplain that is inundated only during floods. Villus are also known as ox-bow lakes in other parts of the world.

Mutugala Gallen Rajamaha Viharaya has also been called Segallen Raja Maha Viharaya in the past. Mutugala has been converted into a forest monastery today with a few priests who protect the site from treasure hunters. Of the ruins, a medium-sized stupa made of bricks, dilapidated from the ravages of time, and vandalized by treasure hunters lies at the top of the rock. No excavation or conservation of the stupa has been done so far. There are also ruins of a much older stupa made out of rock and rubble found at the site and a few others scattered around the site. The whole area is covered in various ruins such as moonstones, pillar bases, stone pillars, and other stone rubble belonging to various buildings.

Out of the 60 or so rock shelters discovered so far, 17 caves have been carved with drip ledges making them suitable for the use of the bikkus. The inscriptions found at the site have been dated to the 2nd century to the 7th century.

The archaeological site of Muthugala Wegala with cave complex allotted by Geographical data Nos. mentioned below in the Wildlife conservation zone of Somawathie in the Grama Niladhari Division Muthugala in Welikanda Divisional Secretary’s Division in Polonnaruwa District, North Central Province was declared as an archaeological is monument in 1st February 2023.

The location is given as

North Latitudes East Longitudes
7° 58′ 29.07”N – 81° 9′ 5.47” E
7° 58′ 32.64”N – 81° 8′ 59.02” E
7° 58′ 38.17”N – 81° 9′ 2.46 ” E
7° 58′ 37.99”N – 81° 9′ 7.03” E


  • Wikramanayaka, V. (2023) ‘Monuments to be declared as Ancient Monuments’, The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka EXTRAORDINARY, 2317/57, p. 4A.
  • Handbook for the ceylon traveller: A Studio Times Publication (1974). Colombo: Studio Times.

Also See

Map of Welikanda Mutugala Gallen Rajamaha Viharaya Archaeological Site

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Welikanda Mutugala Gallen Rajamaha Viharaya Archaeological Site

The modern town of Polonnaruwa is also known as New Town, and the other part of Polonnaruwa remains the royal ancient city of the Kingdom of Polonnaruwa.

Route from Colombo to Polonnaruwa Sacred CityRoute from Kandy to Polonnaruwa Sacred City
Through: Central Highway – Kurunegala – Dambulla
Distance from Colombo: 230 km
Travel Time: 4.45 hours
Driving Directions: See on Google map
Through : Maradankadawala – Habarana
Distance: 103 km
Travel Time: 2 hours
Driving Directions: see on Google map
Route from Anuradhapura to Polonnaruwa Sacred CityRoute from Batticaloa to Polonnaruwa Sacred City
Through : Maradankadawala – Habarana
Distance: 103 km
Travel Time: 2 hours
Driving Directions: See on Google map
Through : Maradankadawala – Habarana
Distance: 103 km
Travel Time : 2 hours
Driving Directions: see on Google map
Route from Polonnaruwa to Welikanda Mutugala Gallen Rajamaha Viharaya Archaeological Site
Through : Manampitiya – Welikanda
Distance : 31 km
Travel time : 1 hour
Driving directions : see on google map

© www.amazinglanka.com

0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (77) 20-29 m (46) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (160) Ancient Anicuts (33) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (225) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (5) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events (2) Flora and Fauna (74) Forts (49) Heritage (1625) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (87) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (53) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (37) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (48) Rock Inscriptions (9) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (13) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (240) Tourist Attractions (198) Travel (3) View Points (18) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (26) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (20) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (212) Badulla District (118) Batticaloa District (22) Colombo District (79) Galle District (63) Gampaha District (60) Hambantota District (117) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (51) Kandy District (201) Kegalle District (158) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (85) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (170) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (86) Matara District (44) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (101) Mullaitivu District (21) Negombo (5) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (119) Puttalam District (35) Ratnapura District (161) Trincomalee District (49) Vavuniya District (31) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply