Japanese Peace Pagoda in Ampara – අම්පාර ජපාන සාම චෛත්‍යය

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)

Ampara Peace Pagoda is a part of larger peace movement which built under the guidance of Nichidatsu Fujii (1885-1985), a Buddhist monk from Japan and founder of the Nipponzan-Myōhōji Buddhist Order. Fujii was greatly inspired by his meeting with Mahatma Gandhi in 1931 and decided to devote his life to promoting non-violence. In 1947, he began constructing Peace Pagodas as shrines to World peace.

The first Peace Pagodas were built as a symbol of peace in the Japanese cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki where the atomic bombs took the lives of over 150,000 people, almost all of whom were civilian, at the end of World War II.

Fujii traveled all over the world, usually on foot, to preach his message of peace. By the time of his death in 1985, peace pagodas had been established in the U.S., England, Australia and India.

By 2000, 80 Peace Pagodas had been built around the world in Europe, Asia, and the United States. There are 4 Peace Pagodas built in various places around Sri Lanka. They are Ampara, Roomasala ( Galle), Sri Pada, Walapane and Bandarawela. The Ampara Pagoda was opened on February 27th in 1988.

The temple consists of a Stupa, A Mahayana style Image House and a small Bodhi Tree. From the entrance a straight path leads to the Stupa. This path is protected by a small parapet wall. Half way down the this path you will see a sign indicating elephants crossing. The narrow area between the end of the parapet wall and the stupa is a regular path for elephants to cross t the he temple. And if you go there during dusk, you can be almost sure to come face to face with some wild elephants on this path.

Also See

Map of Japanese Peace Pagoda in Ampara

ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින් – Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map –

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Ampara Japanes Peace Pagoda

The temple is located on the border of the Ampara Tank on the D. S. Senanayake Road leading to Inginiyagala. After Traveling 3 km from the Ampara City Centre, A board marked Nipponzan-Myōhōj Peace Pagoda can be found. Turning right to a by lane from here, the entrance to temple lies about 200 meters down this lane.

Route 1 from Colombo to Ampara Japanese Peace Pagoda

Route 2 from Colombo to Ampara Japanese Peace Pagoda

Though : Awissawella – Ratnapura – Beragala – Wellawaya – Monaragala
Distance :350 km
Travel time : 6 hours
Driving directions : see on google map
Though : Kandy – Mahiyangana – Bibile – Padiyatalawa – Maha Oya
Distance :325 km
Travel time : 6 hours
Driving directions : see on google map

Route from Ampara Town Ampara Japanes Peace Pagoda

Distance : 3.5 km
Travel time : 10 mins
Driving directions : see on google map

© www.amazinglanka.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

%d bloggers like this: