Thuruwila Wewa in Anuradhapura (තුරුවිල වැව)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (7 votes, average: 4.71 out of 5)

Thuruwila (Turuwila)  is an ancient irrigation reservoir in (Wewa) Anuradhapura district built more than 20 centuries ago. It is believed that King Mahanaga built it in the third century B.C. This can be considered as the fourth Wewa (Reservoir) to be built in Sri Lanka. Basawakkulama, which is built by King Pandukabaya is the first Wewa (Reservoir) in Sri Lanka. After that, King Devanampiyatissa built two reservoirs, Tisa Wewa and Nuwara Wewa.

The Turuwila Wewa is fed by water from Mahaweli River via Kala Wewa. In the 1880s the British rulers of Sri Lanka reconstructed this reservoir which was in a ruined state after abandonment for centuries after the Chola invasions from South India in the 10th to 13th centuries.

The area covered by the reservoir is about 750 acres (3 sq. kilometres, 300 hectares) at full capacity. The mean depth of the reservoir is 12.5 feet. The bunt of the reservoir is 2.4 km long and 180 feet in width. It is 25 feet in height. The overflow of the reservoir runs to the Malwatu Oya. There are five reservoirs, which get water from the Thuruwila Wewa. Rain and the water seepage from the land above the reservoir supply water to the reservoir.

The villagers of the Turuwila village depend on this reservoir. Most of them are farmers. Some villagers make their living by selling flowers such as water lilies, and lotus plucked from this reservoir to the pilgrims to the Anuradhapura sacred city. Large amounts of freshwater fishing are also a common sight around this reservoir. This reservoir supplies water for irrigation of 502 acres of paddy fields and 106 acres of high land.

This reservoir is currently one of the main water sources for the Anuradhapura Town. There are 16 water supply schemes operated in the district and two of them can be considered as the major schemes which are Thuruwila and Anuradhapura water treatment plants.

Also See

Map of  the Thuruwila Wewa

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Traveling to Thuruwila Wewa

Route from Anuradhapura to Thuruwila Wewa
Through : Sravastipura
Distance : 20 km
Travel time : 30 minutes
Driving directions : see on google map


0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (77) 20-29 m (46) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (160) Ancient Anicuts (33) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (225) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (5) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events (2) Flora and Fauna (74) Forts (49) Heritage (1625) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (87) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (53) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (37) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (48) Rock Inscriptions (9) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (13) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (240) Tourist Attractions (198) Travel (3) View Points (18) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (26) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (20) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (212) Badulla District (118) Batticaloa District (22) Colombo District (79) Galle District (63) Gampaha District (60) Hambantota District (117) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (51) Kandy District (201) Kegalle District (158) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (85) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (170) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (86) Matara District (44) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (101) Mullaitivu District (21) Negombo (5) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (119) Puttalam District (35) Ratnapura District (161) Trincomalee District (49) Vavuniya District (31) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply