Wattappola Dharmashalawa / Bana Maduwa (වට්ටප්පොල ධර්මශාලාව / බණ මඩුව)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (11 votes, average: 4.45 out of 5)

Wattappola Dharmashalawa, also known as the Wattappola Bana Maduwa, is a preaching hall adorned with intricate woodcarvings. Constructed during the Kandyan period, it is nestled in the village of Wattappola within the Kandy District. Notably, unlike traditional preaching halls housed within temples, this one stands independently.

To reach the Wattappola Dharmashalawa from Pilimathalawa, head towards the well-known Gadoladeniya Rajamaha Viharaya. Upon reaching the temple, take a right turn at the Y junction and continue along this road for approximately 3.2 kilometres. Eventually, you’ll come across a by-road marked with an archaeology board directing you to the “Wattappola Dharmashalawa”. Follow this by-road for 130 meters, and you’ll spot the building nestled amidst tall grass, situated near the roadside.

The Dharmashalawa is encircled by half-height thick walls, featuring entrances on all four sides. Three large cylindrical-shaped pillars emerge from the walls at each of the four corners. Additionally, from the central entrances, a set of four pillars, two from each side, ascend from the walls, totalling 28 pillars along the outer wall. These pillars’ design reflects Dutch architecture’s influence on the construction of this Bana Maduwa.

Inside the hall, four granite pillars stand prominently. These 32 pillars collectively support a grand three-tiered roof, with wooden beams spanning across them. The flooring consists of paved stone slabs, adding to the hall’s sturdy and enduring construction.

The Dharmashalawa’s exquisitely carved pillar heads, featuring downward-facing four lotus flowers with stalks on each side of the stone pillars, stand as a testament to the remarkable skills of the wood craftsmen of the Kandian era. These intricately crafted pillar heads not only showcase the craftsmanship of the time but also provide valuable insights into the artistic and cultural heritage of the period. Such details offer a glimpse into the architectural and artistic brilliance that characterized the Kandian era, enriching our understanding of Sri Lanka’s rich history and cultural legacy.

Also See

Map of Wattappola Dharmashalawa / Bana Maduwa

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Wattappola Dharmashalawa / Bana Maduwa

Route from Pilimathalawa to Wattappola Dharmashalawa / Bana Maduwa
Total Distance : 4.2 Km
Travel Duration : 10 Minutes
Time to Spend : Around 15-30 Minutes
Driving Directions :  View on Google Map

© www.amazinglanka.com

0-09 m (79) 10-19 m (66) 20-29 m (41) 30-39 m (45) 40-49 m (23) 50-99 m (42) Ambalama (152) Ancient Anicuts (30) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Article (3) Attractions (197) Beaches (6) Botanical Gardens (3) Bridges (34) Caving (4) Church (6) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Flora and Fauna (43) Forts (48) Heritage (1604) Heritage Article (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Spring (9) Hydro Heritage (81) Irrigation Article (4) Islands (15) Kovil (25) Lighthouse (27) Memorial (28) Mile Posts (6) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (14) Pabbatha Vihara (10) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscription (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (18) Prehistory (36) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (43) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (23) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (9) Stone Bridges (18) Survey Tower (13) Tampita Vihara (238) Travel (3) View Points (9) Walawwa (12) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Article (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (19) Ampara District (114) Anuradhapura District (185) Avissawella (4) Badulla (2) Badulla District (102) Batticaloa District (19) Buttala (2) Colombo (5) Colombo District (62) Dambulla (5) Delft (5) Galle (1) Galle District (54) Gampaha District (35) Ganesh Kovil (1) Hambantota (4) Hambantota District (94) India (1) Jaffna (7) Jaffna District (54) Kalutara District (46) Kandy District (171) Kegalle District (106) Kilinochchi District (9) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (56) Kurunegala (5) Kurunegala District (90) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (46) Mannar Island (10) Matale (3) Matale District (61) Matara District (26) Mihintale (22) Monaragala (5) Monaragala District (71) Mullaitivu District (19) Nuwara Eliya (8) Nuwara Eliya District (107) Panama (1) Polonnaruwa District (106) Puttalam District (24) RAMSAR site (2) Ratnapura (8) Ratnapura District (139) Tissamaharama (2) Trincomalee (7) Trincomalee District (43) Vavuniya District (27) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) Wellawaya (6) Wewalwatta (4) Yala (1)

Leave a Reply