Mabotuwana Sri Sumanarama Purana Wilgamu Tampita Viharaya (මාබොටුවන ශ්‍රී සුමනාරාම පුරාණ විල්ගමු ටැම්පිට විහාරය)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (6 votes, average: 3.83 out of 5)

Mabotuwana Sri Sumanarama Purana Wilgamu Rajamaha Viharaya (Vilgamu Rajamaha Viharaya) is a fairly well maintained ‘Tampita Viharaya’ lying about 4 km off Wanduraba on the Kottawagama road. In the ancient text, ‘Vihara Asna’ this temple has been called ‘Wilgamu Rajamaha Viharaya’.

According to Professor Senarath Paranawithana, this temple was built in 1240 CE by the famous Devapathiraja, the well-known minister of King Parakarambahu II of the Dambadeniya Kingdom. Minister Devapathiraja is credited with contributing immensely towards the development of temples in the Southern Region. Minister Devapathiraja is said to have built 3 Tampita Vihara in this region and this is believed to be one of them. This is also believed to be the largest Tampita Viharaya in the southern region.

Although the temple belongs to the Dambadeniya Era, the temple has gone through changes in multiple periods. The Tampita Viharaya has been built on top of granite pillars with ‘Na’ timber laid across them. The walls have been built using materials such as bamboo, and kithul rafters tied together with pitcher tree creeper and filled with clay from ant hills mixed with sugar cane extracts. These walls are about 22 inches thick. The same material has been used to build the statues inside the building. The walls are adorned with sceneries from the Jathaka stories such as Dammapala Jathakaya and Khanda Jathakaya.

Primary Source : Pauranika Sidhastana by Sudarma Kumari

Also See

Map of Mabotuwana Sri Sumanarama Purana Wilgamu Rajamaha Viharaya

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Traveling Directions to Mabotuwana Sri Sumanarama Purana Wilgamu Rajamaha Viharaya

Route from Galle to Mabotuwana Sri Sumanarama Purana Wilgamu Rajamaha Viharaya
Distance :27 km
Travel time : 1 hour
Driving directions : see on Google map


0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (76) 20-29 m (43) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (155) Ancient Anicuts (31) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (218) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (4) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (15) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events Articles (2) Flora and Fauna (48) Forts (49) Heritage (1608) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (50) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (46) Rock Inscriptions (1) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (239) Travel (3) View Points (16) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (23) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (21) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (202) Badulla District (113) Batticaloa District (20) Colombo District (73) Galle District (62) Gampaha District (57) Hambantota District (103) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (50) Kandy District (187) Kegalle District (151) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (168) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (83) Matara District (41) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (93) Mullaitivu District (20) Negombo (6) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (113) Puttalam District (33) Ratnapura District (156) Trincomalee District (47) Vavuniya District (30) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply