Dalada Maligawa of Kurunegala Kingdom (කුරුණෑගල රාජධානියේ දළදා මාලිගාව)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (10 votes, average: 4.50 out of 5)

The old city of Kurunegala Kingdom was spread between Kuruminigala and Ibbagala, bounded by Athugala. Even today ruins of the palace complex, the Temple of Tooth (Dalada Maligawa) and other buildings inside a semi-circular are found on this strip of land between Athugala and Kuruminigala.

The semi-circular wall is believed to have been the inner city wall of the ancient Kurunegala Kingdom. The old royal palace complex dating back to the 14th century can be distinctly identified. Among the ruins that can be seen in this precinct are the remains of a square-shaped building found after a flight of seven steps in the rock to the south of the precinct. More steps are cut towards the rock below. Based on the ruins there seems to have been a platform had existed connecting these two rocks.

Dalada Maligawa (Temple of Tooth Relic), believed to have been built during the reign of King Parakramabahu IV (1302 – 1326), is located near Kuruminigala. It is also mentioned in the Mahavamsa that King Parakramabahu IV had built this Dalada Maligawa on his royal palace premises. It is also stated in the sources that Dalada Maligawa, which was built during the reign of King Parakramabahu IV, was made up of three floors. According to the stone gate entrance found today, it can be assumed that Dalada Maligawa was made of wood. Numerous different carvings and ruins have been found in this site, such as carved stone slabs with a lion figure, an Elephant figure, a Jagasingha figure, a figure of the Gana deity, etc.

A wooden boat, 32 feet long and 5 1/2 feet wide, made of kumbuk wood, which is said to have been found in the Kurunegala Wewa, can also be seen at this place. Evidence is found that during the old royal days, a footpath stretched from the palace premises to Atugala.

In addition, you’ll come across a monument marking the spot where Dingirala, a prominent leader of the 1848 rebellion for the independence of then Ceylon, was apprehended by the British in Munthettuhala. Here, he was bound to a banyan tree and met his demise by gunfire.

The site can be reached from a pathway near the North Central Provincial Council Office in Kurunegala.

Also See

Map of Dalada Maligawa of Kurunegala Kingdom

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Dalada Maligawa of Kurunegala Kingdom

The site can be reached from a pathway near the North Central Provincial Council Office in Kurunegala.

© www.amazinglanka.com

0-09 m (79) 10-19 m (66) 20-29 m (41) 30-39 m (45) 40-49 m (23) 50-99 m (42) Ambalama (152) Ancient Anicuts (30) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Article (3) Attractions (197) Beaches (6) Botanical Gardens (3) Bridges (34) Caving (4) Church (6) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Flora and Fauna (43) Forts (48) Heritage (1604) Heritage Article (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Spring (9) Hydro Heritage (81) Irrigation Article (4) Islands (15) Kovil (25) Lighthouse (27) Memorial (28) Mile Posts (6) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (14) Pabbatha Vihara (10) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscription (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (18) Prehistory (37) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (43) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (23) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (9) Stone Bridges (18) Survey Tower (13) Tampita Vihara (238) Travel (3) View Points (9) Walawwa (12) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Article (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (19) Ampara District (124) Anuradhapura District (185) Avissawella (4) Badulla (2) Badulla District (102) Batticaloa District (19) Buttala (2) Colombo (5) Colombo District (62) Dambulla (5) Delft (5) Galle (1) Galle District (54) Gampaha District (35) Ganesh Kovil (1) Hambantota (4) Hambantota District (94) India (1) Jaffna (7) Jaffna District (54) Kalutara District (46) Kandy District (171) Kegalle District (106) Kilinochchi District (9) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (56) Kurunegala (5) Kurunegala District (90) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (46) Mannar Island (10) Matale (3) Matale District (61) Matara District (26) Mihintale (22) Monaragala (5) Monaragala District (71) Mullaitivu District (19) Nuwara Eliya (8) Nuwara Eliya District (107) Panama (1) Polonnaruwa District (106) Puttalam District (24) RAMSAR site (2) Ratnapura (8) Ratnapura District (139) Tissamaharama (2) Trincomalee (7) Trincomalee District (43) Vavuniya District (27) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) Wellawaya (6) Wewalwatta (4) Yala (1)

Leave a Reply