Gatabaru Rajamaha Viharaya (ගැටබරු රජමහා විහාරය)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (9 votes, average: 3.56 out of 5)

Gatabaru Raja Maha Viharaya (Getabaru Raja Maha Viharaya) is on a mountaintop on the Akuressa – Deniyaya Road (A17) between Morawaka and Deniyaya. Until recently this temple has been rather neglected due to the rough terrain of the location. But now a good tar road has been built from the bottom of the mountain to the temple. The climb is strenuous even for a vehicle. From the park, you have to do some climbing to reach the cave image house (temple) and devale and more climbing to reach the stupa. on the route to the Cave Temple is a golden casket made in the shape of a stupa displayed in a glass room.

This temple has now become popular for the Getabaru Deiyo where people come to pray, bring an offering (“puja”) or make a vow (“bara”). In addition, Gatabaru Deviyo is also a popular god for placing curses to take revenge on enemies. The God Getabaru is said to be a representation of the dark side of the God Kataragama.

Due to the karmic effect of the good deeds of the Buddhists God Kataragama had risen so much in the hierarchy of the gods, Getabaru had to leave Kataragama, so he withdrew to an isolated place on a mountaintop in the interior near Morawaka on the road from lying close to the Akurassa to Deniyaya. There in isolation and, as it were, far from the official Buddhist world he exercises now his despised yet well-appreciated powers. People fear and therefore also respect his power to curse.

The annual Esala Perahera of Getabaru Maha Devale is supposed to be the second biggest (next to Kataragama) in the Matara District.

Also See

Map of Gatabaru Rajamaha Viharaya

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Traveling Directions to Gatabaru Rajamaha Viharaya

The temple is between 69 and 70 KM posts on the A17 route (Akurassa – Deniyaya Road)

Route I from Colombo to Gatabaru TempleRoute from Galle to Gatabaru Temple
Via : Southern Expressway – Welipenna – Neluwa – Morawaka
Distance : 175 km
Travel time :4- hours
Driving directions : see on google map
Via : Southern Express way – Imaduwa – Akuressa
Distance : 76 km –
Travel time : 2 hours
Driving directions : see on google map


0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (76) 20-29 m (43) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (155) Ancient Anicuts (31) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (218) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (4) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (15) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events Articles (2) Flora and Fauna (48) Forts (49) Heritage (1608) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (50) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (46) Rock Inscriptions (1) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (239) Travel (3) View Points (16) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (23) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (21) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (202) Badulla District (113) Batticaloa District (20) Colombo District (73) Galle District (62) Gampaha District (57) Hambantota District (103) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (50) Kandy District (187) Kegalle District (151) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (168) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (83) Matara District (41) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (93) Mullaitivu District (20) Negombo (6) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (113) Puttalam District (33) Ratnapura District (156) Trincomalee District (47) Vavuniya District (30) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)