Miniyampitiya Watta Archaeological Ruins in Kegalle

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

While building the Central Expressway between Colombo and Kandy, a discovery was made of ruins of two ancient stupas which had never been reported before.

The site lies in Rambukkana Miniyampitiya area in Kegalle District. Discovered as a mound of earth, the excavations of the site were started on 25 April 2019 by the Kegalle office of the Archaeology Department.

Two stupas are of about 10 and 15 meters in circumference. Based on these excavations, the stupa one (1) showed an early primitive construction pattern. Clay and stone have been used to build this edifice. It has been built as two parts. The base is a raised platform with walls built with rubble (stone rubble) and the center circular base where the stupa stood had been filled with gravel and/or clay and compressed.

The stupa was built on 2 circular bases and about five rows of stones were remaining from the stupa when it was excavated. Archaeology officers had determined that this stupa to built in the 2nd or 3rd century BCE and that it could be a subsidiary stupa of the Deliwela Kota Vehera. A similar type of construction had been observed with the initial construction of the Deliwala Kota Vehera during its excavation.

The second stupa mound was built at a later date than the first stupa based on the building materials and shapes used in this stupa. It seems that with the collapse of the first stupa, a new stupa next to the older one had been built using better materials and techniques. It has been concluded that there are several stages of construction of this stupa mound. Stone, clay, and bricks are used for stupa number 02. Most of the stones used have been carved into curved form. All these stones have been used for the basal rings and below. The upper part of the second stupa has been constructed using stone fragments and bricks.

These ruins have been restored by the archaeology department.


  • Arugama, H.S.M.K. (2019) ‘අධිවේගී මාර්ග ව්‍යාපෘතියක කැනීම් කටයුතු අතරේ ස්තුප ගොඩැලි 02ක් අනාවරණය වෙයි’, දායාද : පුරාවිද්‍යා පුවත් අටුවාව , 13, pp. 2–2.
  • අනුරාධපුර යුගයේ මුල් භාගයට අයත් දාගැබ් දෙකක නටඹුන් හමුවෙයි – sri lanka news (2019) Newsfirst. Available at:අනුරාධපුර-යුගයේ-මුල්-භාග/ (Accessed: 15 September 2023).

Also See

Map of Miniyampitiya Watta Archaeological Ruins

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Miniyampitiya Watta Archaeological Ruins Driving Directions

From Colombo to Miniyampitiya Watta Archaeological Ruins
Via : Kadawatha – Ambepussa – Polgahawela
Total Distance : 98 Kms
Travel Time : 2.45 hours
Time to spend : Around 10-20 mins
Driving Directions :  View on Google Map


0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (77) 20-29 m (46) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (161) Ancient Anicuts (33) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (225) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (5) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events (2) Flora and Fauna (74) Forts (49) Heritage (1628) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (87) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (53) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (37) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (48) Rock Inscriptions (9) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (13) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (14) Tampita Vihara (240) Tourist Attractions (198) Travel (3) View Points (18) Walawwa (13) War Memorials (26) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (20) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (212) Badulla District (118) Batticaloa District (22) Colombo District (79) Galle District (64) Gampaha District (60) Hambantota District (117) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (51) Kandy District (201) Kegalle District (158) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (85) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) King Kavan Tissa (1) King Mahasen (1) King Walagamba (3) Kurunegala District (171) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (86) Matara District (44) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (101) Mullaitivu District (21) Negombo (5) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (119) Puttalam District (36) Ratnapura District (161) Trincomalee District (49) Vavuniya District (31) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply