Mottunna Sri Kireetaramaya Purana Tampita Viharaya

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (5 votes, average: 3.40 out of 5)

Mottuna Kireetaramaya Viharaya (Kiritaramaya Viharaya) is a modern temple today with a single out of place building. Among these these new buildings is an ancient ancient Tampita Viharaya, a temple built on pillars.

Tampita Vihara (Temple on Pillars) was a popular architectural feature during the Kandyan kingdom where the temple was built on a platform which was held on an array of pillars, mostly stone.

The typical plan of a Tampita Viharaya comprise of 3 spaces. The most important is the inner room. This is main shrine room and comrise of a seated buddha statue facing the door and commonly standing Buddha statues at the sides. Statues or paintings of Sariyuth and Mugalan theros, other deities such as Saman, Vishnu, Natha, Siva and patronizing kings and dignitaries are commonly found inside the shrine room. The walls are covered with art depicting Jataka stories or other events in Buddhist literature.

The second space is the narrow circumambulating  path or a verandah which encircles the inner room. This is sometimes completely covered by an outerwall or exposed to outside with a short timber or wattle and daub side wall.

Generally the circumambulating  path/verandah is extended in space at the front of the inner room creating the 3rd space. This space is accessible from the ground level by a few steps mostly taking the form of a step ladder.

Tampita Viharaya at Motunna is built on 21 stone pillars 1.14 meters high.  A circumambulating path runs around the image house. It is 1.7 meter wide in front, 74 cm wide on sides and rear. The image house is 3.50×3.12 meters in size and the building is 6.78×5.11 meters in size.

The Tampita Viharaya at Mottuna Kiritaramaya Viharaya is considered one of the best preserved and maintained Tampita Viharaya in the Gampaha District. The viharaya has been restored recently and the original granite pillars are now supported by concrete pillars. At the entrance to the inner chamber statues of  2 guardian deities are found.

The main seated image of Buddha lies facing the door. The statue is surrounded by a painting of a horseshoe-shaped halo using a flame design typically found in temples of the Kandyan era. Paintings of the Sun and the Moon are seen at the top of the wall. Paintings of Sariyuth and Mugalan Theros are seen below these designs. Two statues of deities Vishnu (Upuluwan) and Saman are seen beside the Buddha statue on the sidewalls.

To reach the temple, travel about 500 meters from Veyangoda toward Nittambuwa take the Kottala road to the left and travel 1.7 km. A billboard will direct you to a narrow bylane which will lead to the temple.

Alternate names : Mottuna Tampita Viharaya

Also See

Map of Mottunna Sri Kireetaramaya Purana Tampita Viharaya

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Traveling directions to Mottunna Sri Kireetaramaya Purana Tampita Viharaya

Travel directions from Colombo to Mottunna Sri Kireetaramaya Purana Tampita Viharaya
Distance : 43  km
Travel time : 1.5 hour
Time to spend : 30  mins
Driving directions : see on google map


0-09 m (80) 10-19 m (69) 20-29 m (42) 30-39 m (47) 40-49 m (23) 50-99 m (43) Ambalama (152) Ancient Anicuts (31) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Article (3) Attractions (200) Beaches (7) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (3) Bridges (34) Caving (7) Church (11) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Flora and Fauna (43) Forts (49) Heritage (1603) Heritage Article (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Article (4) Islands (15) Kovil (25) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (28) Mile Posts (6) Mosque (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (15) Pabbatha Vihara (10) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (37) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (44) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (24) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (238) Travel (3) View Points (9) Walawwa (12) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Article (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (19) Ampara District (191) Anuradhapura District (194) Badulla District (105) Batticaloa District (19) Colombo District (62) Galle District (56) Gampaha District (49) Hambantota District (99) Jaffna District (69) Kalutara District (47) Kandy District (177) Kegalle District (146) Kilinochchi District (10) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (110) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (63) Matara District (26) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (70) Mullaitivu District (19) Nuwara Eliya District (108) Polonnaruwa District (107) Puttalam District (24) Ratnapura District (142) Trincomalee District (43) Vavuniya District (28) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (22) z Jaffna 3 (11)

Leave a Reply