Ramakele Stupa at Sigiriya (රාමකැලේ ස්තුපය)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (3 votes, average: 4.67 out of 5)

Ramakele Stupa  belongs to Ramakele Mahanaga Pabbatha Viharaya in Sigiriya. This has also been identified as Mahanapaw Viharaya in the Sigiri graffiti and on an inscription nearby. This stupa is thought to be constructed by King Kashapa I (477-495 AD) or Mugalan I (495-512 AD).

This stupa was excavated in 1910 but the tresure hunters had beaten the Archaeologists to it. The relic chamber of the stupa was already attacked by treasure hunters and the relics were stolen. It is believed that this stupa would have housed significant relics as the relic chamber of this stupa was uniquely built.

The chamber was of 3 compartments with the bottom compartment housing a profusely carved stone replica of “Maha Meru Parwathaya”, a mythical mountain. In addition, archaeologists have discovered a quantity of coins and gems which the treasure hunters had missed. The replica of the Maha Meru Parwathaya is now housed in the National Museum in Colombo.

What remains on the stupa today is only part of the bubble-shaped body with three circular pesa walau. The diameter of the stupa is 92 feet.

Of the buildings in the forest deeper, the most important are the remains of an Image House which has a dozen pillars over 1.5 ft. in height. This building would have had 32 in all. They resemble those found twenty miles away at Menikdena. There is also a very weathered moonstone of dolomite (Devendra, 1951).


Go on the road leading to Sigiriya from Inamaluwa (on Dambulla – Habarana Road). the stupa is about 1 km before the Sigiriya on the right-hand side about 50 meters into the jungle.


  • Devendra, d t (1951) Guide to sigiriya. 3rd edn. Colombo, Sri Lanka: Ceylon Govt. Press.

Also See

Map of Ramakele Stupa

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Ramakele Stupa

Route from Colombo to Ramakele Stupa Route from Inamaluwa to Ramakele Stupa
Distance: 7.5 km
Travel Time :15 minutes
Driving Directions : see on Google map
Distance: 7.5 km
Travel Time:15 minutes
Driving Directions : see on Google map

© www.amazinglanka.com

0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (77) 20-29 m (46) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (160) Ancient Anicuts (32) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (2) Attractions (223) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (4) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events (2) Flora and Fauna (73) Forts (49) Heritage (1624) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (51) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (37) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (46) Rock Inscriptions (8) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (240) Tourist Attractions (97) Travel (3) View Points (18) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (23) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (20) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (211) Badulla District (118) Batticaloa District (22) Colombo District (76) Galle District (63) Gampaha District (59) Hambantota District (116) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (51) Kandy District (201) Kegalle District (158) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (85) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (170) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (86) Matara District (44) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (101) Mullaitivu District (21) Negombo (5) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (119) Puttalam District (35) Ratnapura District (160) Trincomalee District (49) Vavuniya District (31) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply