Pannalgama Ruwanmaluwa Aranya Senasanaya Archaeological Site in Ampara (අම්පාර රුවන්මළුව ආරණ්‍ය සේනාසනය පුරාවිද්‍යා භූමිය)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (4 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)

Pannalgama is an ancient village in Ampara district which was revitalized after the renovation of the Pannalgama reservoir. There are several sites where ruins of the ancient Digamadulla kingdom exist scattered in the jungles around Pannalgama. Few such sites have been declared as protected archaeological sites but much more are yet to be identified or discovered.

One such site is the Ruwanmaluwa Aranya Senasanaya, a living forest hermitage of meditating Buddhist monks. The Hermitage lies eastern slopes of the mountains north of the reservoir.

The drip ledge caves with inscriptions along with the ruins of ancient buildings have been  declared as a protected archaeological site by the Government with the Gazette issued on 10th October 2014, and describes the location as follows ;

“Other archaeological evidence including drip-ledged caves with inscriptions and stone pillars in Ruwanmaluwa Aranya Senasana premises in Pannalgama village in the Grama Niladari Division W/25/A Pannalagama in the Divisional Secretary’s Division, Damana in Ampara District in Eastern Province. (latitude 07º 09380′ N and longitude 081º 6459’E).”

Pannalgama Archaeological Site is another location in the village which has been protected. This location is described in the Gazette as follows ;

“The site with the ruins of buildings with stone pillars and other archaeological evidence belonging to Pannalgama village in Grama Niladari Division Kumana in the Divisional Secretary’s Division, Damana in Ampara District in Eastern Province. (latitude 07º 10730′ N and longitude 081º 68184’E).”

GPS location is marked based on the above description. However, it is recommended to get directions to the site beforehand. The area is probably dominated by a non-Buddhist community and most might be reluctant to disclose this location.

Also See

Map of Pannalgama Ruwanmaluwa Aranya Senasanaya

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Pannalgama Ruwanmaluwa Aranya Senasanaya

Route from Siyambalanduwa to Pannalgama Ruwanmaluwa Aranya Senasanaya
Through : Ampara  Road
Distance :36 km
Travel time : 1 mins
Time to spent : 60 mins
Driving directions : see on google map


0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (76) 20-29 m (43) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (155) Ancient Anicuts (31) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (218) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (4) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (15) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events Articles (2) Flora and Fauna (48) Forts (49) Heritage (1608) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (50) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (46) Rock Inscriptions (1) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (239) Travel (3) View Points (16) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (23) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (21) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (202) Badulla District (113) Batticaloa District (20) Colombo District (73) Galle District (62) Gampaha District (57) Hambantota District (103) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (50) Kandy District (187) Kegalle District (151) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (168) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (83) Matara District (41) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (93) Mullaitivu District (20) Negombo (6) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (113) Puttalam District (33) Ratnapura District (156) Trincomalee District (47) Vavuniya District (30) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply