Kathaluwa Atadahe Walawwa

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (12 votes, average: 4.25 out of 5)

The story of Katalua Atadahe Valuwa in Habaraduwa Divisional Secretariat begins with the Portuguese Navy Lieutenant Owen Ferdinands who came to Sri Lanka around 1630. At this time, the coastal area of ​​Sri Lanka was under Portuguese rule.

Landing at the port of Galle as the captain of the Royal Portuguese Navy to check the activities of the Portuguese administrators in the southern maritime provinces of Ceylon, he decided to make Sri Lanka his permanent residence, gradually becoming attached to the island during inspection tours.

When he decided to settle in Sri Lanka, he bought a fertile land of 125 acres in the Kathaluwa area, planted 8000 coconut trees there and built a big house on it. This mansion (walawwa) with eight thousand palm trees was popularly known as Atadahe Walawwa.

Later, he wanted to change his name to a Sinhala name and he met a head Buddhist priest in the Korathota area and told him of the need. It is said that the priest gave Owen Ferdinands the name of Obeysekera considering his royal lineage.

He got married to the daughter of a nobleman with a hill country royal lineage named Seneviratne Dissanayake of Kosgoda Walawwa who had migrated from up country in around 1650 and was serving as the Muhandiram of Talpe Patthu in Galle during the end of the Portuguese rule. By joining the Jayawardena family through later marriages, the last owner of the Atadahe Walawwa is Don Justin Arthur Jayawardena and his wife.

Recently, this Walawwa has been collapsing and it was reported that its front wall completely collapsed in the 2004 tsunami. Later, the archaeology department declared this nearly 400-year-old Walawwa as an archaeological monument, but no repairs were made. This crumbling Atadahe Walawwa was preserved as a luxury hotel a few years ago under the supervision of the Department of Archaeology. This boutique hotel was opened in February 2020 under the name Katalua Mahawalawwa.


Also See

Map of Kathaluwa Atadahe Walawwa

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travelling Directions to Kathaluwa Atadahe Walawwa

From Galle to Kathaluwa Atadahe Walawwa
Via : Galle
Total Distance : 17 Km
Duration : 30 minutes
Duration : Around 30-60 minutes
Driving Directions : View on Google Map

© www.amazinglanka.com

0-09 m (79) 10-19 m (66) 20-29 m (41) 30-39 m (45) 40-49 m (23) 50-99 m (42) Ambalama (152) Ancient Anicuts (30) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Article (3) Attractions (197) Beaches (6) Botanical Gardens (3) Bridges (34) Caving (4) Church (6) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Flora and Fauna (43) Forts (48) Heritage (1604) Heritage Article (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Spring (9) Hydro Heritage (81) Irrigation Article (4) Islands (15) Kovil (25) Lighthouse (27) Memorial (28) Mile Posts (6) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (14) Pabbatha Vihara (10) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscription (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (18) Prehistory (36) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (43) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (23) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (9) Stone Bridges (18) Survey Tower (13) Tampita Vihara (238) Travel (3) View Points (9) Walawwa (12) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Article (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (19) Ampara District (112) Anuradhapura District (185) Avissawella (4) Badulla (2) Badulla District (102) Batticaloa District (19) Buttala (2) Colombo (5) Colombo District (62) Dambulla (5) Delft (5) Galle (1) Galle District (54) Gampaha District (35) Ganesh Kovil (1) Hambantota (4) Hambantota District (94) India (1) Jaffna (7) Jaffna District (54) Kalutara District (46) Kandy District (171) Kegalle District (106) Kilinochchi District (9) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (56) Kurunegala (5) Kurunegala District (90) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (46) Mannar Island (10) Matale (3) Matale District (61) Matara District (26) Mihintale (22) Monaragala (5) Monaragala District (71) Mullaitivu District (19) Nuwara Eliya (8) Nuwara Eliya District (107) Panama (1) Polonnaruwa District (106) Puttalam District (24) RAMSAR site (2) Ratnapura (8) Ratnapura District (139) Tissamaharama (2) Trincomalee (7) Trincomalee District (43) Vavuniya District (27) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) Wellawaya (6) Wewalwatta (4) Yala (1)

Leave a Reply