Badagamuwa Thorayaya Ancient Tampita Viharaya (බඩගමුව තෝරයාය පුරාණ ටැම්පිට විහාරය)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (4 votes, average: 2.75 out of 5)

Badagamuwa Thorayaya Ancient Viharaya is a Buddhist temple with an ancient Tampita Viharaya built during the era of king Kirthi Sri Rajasinghe (1747 – 1781) of Kandyan Kingdom.  The temple lies bordering Badagamuwa Forest on the Kurunegala – Dambulla road.

A Tampita Viharaya is a building constructed on a wooden platform supported by several stone pillars, usually 3-4 feet high. Its roof is supported by a timber structure, and the walls are typically made of wattle and daub. Inside, the chamber walls are often adorned with paintings, primarily in the Kandyan style.

The original Tampita Viharaya at the Badagamuwa Thorayaya Temple is built on 8 tall pillars and said have had 3 stories. The enlarged ground floor had been used as the Pohoya Geya. The walls of the image house on the top had been covered in murals. However, this tampita viharaya has been now converted to a single floor. The Pohoya Geya which had been built surrounding the Tampita Viharaya is missing as well as the 3rd level.

A narrow circumambulating path protected by a wooden balustrade can be seen surrounding the image house. The outer wall is painted in white and lacks any murals today. The entrance of the image house is guarded by two guardian deities. The entrance is plain and is made in the form of Chandrawanka. There are 4 statues inside the image house. The main Buddha statue is in the seated position the the other standing statues are thought to be of Arhaths.

Empty spaces for 3 more statues can be seen along side the walls. Unfortunately, these statues have been stolen by treasure hunters in the past. All the statues have been carved in sandalwood, plastered and painted. The inner wall is retains a few murals but most have faded and destroyed with time. These display Kandyan sittara styles. Some paintings which have probably been done at a later date can be seen on the ceiling.

To reach the temple travel 5.5 km on the Dambulla road from Kurunegala. Just after passing the Badagamuwa Forest, take the first lane to the left which is called Govipola Road. Traveling 200 meters on this road you will find the temple gates to the left.

Alternate Names : Badagamuwa Tampita Viharya, Thambugala Tampita Viharaya

Also See

Map of the Badagamuwa Thorayaya Ancient Tampita Viharaya

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Driving Directions to Badagamuwa Thorayaya Ancient Tampita Viharaya

Route from Kurunegala to Badagamuwa Thorayaya Ancient Tampita Viharaya
Though : Badagamuwa Forest
distance : 6  km
Travel time :15-20 mins
Time to spend : 20 – 30  mins
Driving directions : see on google map


0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (77) 20-29 m (46) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (161) Ancient Anicuts (33) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (225) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (5) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events (2) Flora and Fauna (74) Forts (49) Heritage (1628) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (87) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (53) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (37) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (48) Rock Inscriptions (9) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (13) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (14) Tampita Vihara (240) Tourist Attractions (198) Travel (3) View Points (18) Walawwa (13) War Memorials (26) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (20) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (212) Badulla District (118) Batticaloa District (22) Colombo District (79) Galle District (64) Gampaha District (60) Hambantota District (117) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (51) Kandy District (201) Kegalle District (158) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (85) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) King Kavan Tissa (1) King Mahasen (1) King Walagamba (3) Kurunegala District (171) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (86) Matara District (44) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (101) Mullaitivu District (21) Negombo (5) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (119) Puttalam District (36) Ratnapura District (161) Trincomalee District (49) Vavuniya District (31) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply