Lunukadawella Tampita Rajamaha Viharaya (ලුණුකඩවැල්ල ටැම්පිට රජමහා විහාරය)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (3 votes, average: 3.33 out of 5)

Lunukadawella Rajamaha Viharaya is a Buddhist temple with an ancient Tampita Viharaya lying in Rikillagamuwa, Wellawa in Kurunegala District. Lunukadawella lies on the banks of Deduru Oya and it is said that a type of fish called Lunukada was abundant in this area thus this area was named Lunukadawella.

According to legend Prince Gemunu on his march to Vijithapura to attack Elara’s last stronghold had rested with his army at Lunukadawella and it is said that this temple was built by him for his soldiers to perform Buddhist rituals.

A Tampita Viharaya is a special building constructed on a wooden platform supported by several stone stumps, typically around 3 to 4 feet tall. Its roof is supported by a timber frame, and the walls are often made of wattle and daub, a mixture of woven branches and clay. Inside, the chamber walls are usually adorned with paintings, often in the Kandyan style, depicting religious themes and stories.

The Tampita Viharaya at the Lunukadawella Rajamaha Viharaya is built upon 7 large granite pillars. Unfortunately, this structure has been renovated with no concern to the antiquity of the building. The wooden beams which lie across the pillars have been replaced with concrete beams and the image house to has been renovated to give a new look.

To reach the temple from Kurunegala, travel 2 km on the Dambulla road and turn onto the Hiripitiya road. Travel 7 km on this road to reach Wellawa turn on to the Budanapitiya Road and travel past the Hiripitiya Government Hospital. Travel 4.2 along this route passing Rikillagamuwa (follow the notice boards to the temple along the way) to reach the temple.

Also See

Map of the Lunukadawella Tampita Rajamaha Viharaya

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Driving Directions to Lunukadawella Tampita Rajamaha Viharaya

Route from Kurunegala to Lunukadawella Tampita Rajamaha Viharaya
Though : Muttettugala – Wellawa – Rikillagamuwa
distance : 14  km
Travel time : 20 mins
Time to spend : 20 – 30  mins
Driving directions : see on google map


0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (77) 20-29 m (46) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (160) Ancient Anicuts (32) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (2) Attractions (223) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (4) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events (2) Flora and Fauna (73) Forts (49) Heritage (1624) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (51) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (37) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (46) Rock Inscriptions (8) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (240) Tourist Attractions (97) Travel (3) View Points (18) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (23) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (20) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (211) Badulla District (118) Batticaloa District (22) Colombo District (76) Galle District (63) Gampaha District (59) Hambantota District (116) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (51) Kandy District (201) Kegalle District (158) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (85) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (170) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (86) Matara District (44) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (101) Mullaitivu District (21) Negombo (5) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (119) Puttalam District (35) Ratnapura District (160) Trincomalee District (49) Vavuniya District (31) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply