Masjidul Abrar Jumma Mosque of Beruwala – The Oldest Mosque in Sri Lanka

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (13 votes, average: 4.15 out of 5)

The Beruwala Maradana Masjidul Abrar Jumma mosque is reminiscent of the first Muslim settlement created with the advent of Muslims in Sri Lanka. it is a symbol of the relationship Muslims have with Beruwala.

Muslims in Sri Lanka believe that this is the first mosque built by Muslims and it is believed to date back to 920 AD. According to the book Sunahar (authored by J C Vansandem), the name Beruwela may have evolved from Be-Ruwala which means the dropping or folding of the sails by Arab Muslims who arrived by ship in the Bay.

The Muslims who originally settled in the coastal areas of Beruwela are believed to have extended further inland to the village areas due to the hospitality of the Sinhala community. History reveals that they settled in Pinhera in this manner. They are said to have built a mosque truly for their prayers. Although the mosque is not seen today, there is a land called Palliyawatte in the area.

Since it is compulsory for Muslims to say prayers five times a day, wherever they may be it is a custom for them to build even a small building to engage in prayers. The Mosques built near Beruwela and Pinhera are now non-existent. The Maradana Mosque which has been rehabilitated regularly over the years, proudly represents the history of Muslims in Sri Lanka.

At a ceremony to mark the first Arab settlement held on June 8, 2013, two commemorative stamps were launched by the Postal Department. Although the date of the setting up of the mosque is unclear, it can be remembered according to the available information that its origin was before 920 AD.

A pond built in front of this masjid at that time still adds to the beauty of its surroundings.

This was the only Masjid which existed in Beruwela almost a century ago. The present appearance was created when it was rehabilitated in 1986 by the late Deshamanya Al Haj M A Balveer Muskar, former MP and Southern Province Governor. It has facilities to accommodate 3000 devotees at a time.

by M B Mukthar
Daily News

Also See

Map of The Masjidul Abrar Jumma Mosque of Beruwala

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Masjidul Abrar Jumma Mosque of Beruwala

Route from Colombo to Tomb of Masjidul Abrar Jumma Mosque of Beruwala
Through : Kaduwela – Avissawella
Distance : 55 km
Travel time : 1.5 hours
Driving directions : see on google map


0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (76) 20-29 m (43) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (155) Ancient Anicuts (31) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (3) Attractions (218) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (4) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (15) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events Articles (2) Flora and Fauna (48) Forts (49) Heritage (1608) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (50) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (46) Rock Inscriptions (1) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (239) Travel (3) View Points (16) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (23) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (21) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (202) Badulla District (113) Batticaloa District (20) Colombo District (73) Galle District (62) Gampaha District (57) Hambantota District (103) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (50) Kandy District (187) Kegalle District (151) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (168) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (83) Matara District (41) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (93) Mullaitivu District (20) Negombo (6) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (113) Puttalam District (33) Ratnapura District (156) Trincomalee District (47) Vavuniya District (30) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply