New Talaimannar Lighthouse and the Old Pier (තලෙයිමන්නාරම ප්‍රදීපාගාරය)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)

Mannar is one of the most barren and driest islands of Sri Lanka connected through a 3 km causeway to mainland. But this was one of the busiest towns in the ancient past when this area (Gulf Of Mannar) was one of the biggest pearl banks in the world, supplying massive amounts of pearls to the kings and queens throughout the world for over 2000 years. Over harvesting destroyed the pearl industry Hundreds of years ago.

Prior to the severe destruction by a cyclone in December 1964, Thalaimannar Pier was the terminus of a ferry service to India across the very shallow Palk Bay. The ferry service was part of the Indo-Lanka Railway service, where passengers were ferried between Talaimannar and Dhanushkodi on Rameswaram island in India. The pier was served by a station of the Sri Lanka Government Railway.

The new Talaimannar lighthouse ( Thalaimannar lighthouse) was built in 1915 and was 19m high. The tower has not been maintained during the recent past due to the war situation which existed for the last 30 years. After the defeat of the Tamil Tiger Terrorists, the light house has been repaired and this area is now accessible by the general public.

Here you will find the Talaimannar Pier, Talaimannar Railway and end of the rail line, the Light house and and the end of the A14 highway which starts from Medawachchiya. It is said that this is the only location in Sri Lanka where an A grade highway and railway line ends together.

Also See

Map of  New Talaimannar Lighthouse

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Travel Directions to Talaimannar Lighthouse

Route from Colombo to Talaimannar Lighthouse Route from Anuradhapura Talaimannar Lighthouse
Though : Chillaw – Puttlam – Pomparippu
Distance : 290 km
Travel time : 4-5 hours
Driving directions : see on google map
Though : Madawachichiya
distance : 150 km
Travel time : 2.5-3.0  hours
Driving directions : see on google map


0-09 m (80) 10-19 m (69) 20-29 m (42) 30-39 m (47) 40-49 m (23) 50-99 m (43) Ambalama (152) Ancient Anicuts (31) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Article (3) Attractions (200) Beaches (7) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (3) Bridges (34) Caving (7) Church (11) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Flora and Fauna (43) Forts (49) Heritage (1603) Heritage Article (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Article (4) Islands (15) Kovil (25) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (28) Mile Posts (6) Mosque (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (15) Pabbatha Vihara (10) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (37) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (44) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (24) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (238) Travel (3) View Points (9) Walawwa (12) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Article (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (19) Ampara District (191) Anuradhapura District (194) Badulla District (105) Batticaloa District (19) Colombo District (62) Galle District (56) Gampaha District (49) Hambantota District (99) Jaffna District (69) Kalutara District (47) Kandy District (177) Kegalle District (146) Kilinochchi District (10) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (110) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (63) Matara District (26) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (70) Mullaitivu District (19) Nuwara Eliya District (108) Polonnaruwa District (107) Puttalam District (24) Ratnapura District (142) Trincomalee District (43) Vavuniya District (28) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (22) z Jaffna 3 (11)

Leave a Reply