Wahawa Hot Springs (වහව උනුදිය උල්පත්)

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (2 votes, average: 3.00 out of 5)

Wahawa Hot Springs lies in a rural village off Padiyatalawa. There are 18 springs scattered in the village and the paddy fields. They are built in the form of tanks but it seems that only a few are being used. Among these wells is a flowing artesian well which is used by the villages for bathing and washing.

Padiyatalawa lies in the Ampara District, Eastern Province of Sri Lanka. It can be reached from Bibile or Mahiyangana from one end and Mahaoya from the other end. The turn-off to Whawa is just before the Padiyatalawa Police Station if you travel from Bibile or Mahiyangana.

At the turn off you will see a direction board at the top of Komana road. Although it says 10 km it’s approx 14 km from this junction. The tar road continues for approx 11.5 km and then you need to turn off to a gravel road which continues for another 2.5 km through thick jungle. You will need a 4×4 vehicle on rainy days to travel this path.

Update (2024) : The infrastructure in the area has much improved after the initial write-up. The Padiyathalawa road has been widened and carpeted. Padiyathalawa Police Station has also moved. The inner roads too have been either tarred. The last stretch is a concrete road. Therefore any vehicle can access this site now.

about 30 meters before the well, you will notice some stone pillars of an ancient temple complex on to your right. Most of the artefacts are partially covered by growth. Among them is a part of a beautifully carved stone pillar with curves complete with a pillar head.

Also See

Map of  the Wahawa Hot Springs

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Traveling Directions to Wahawa Hot Springs

Route from Polonnaruwa to Wahawa Hot SpringsRoute from Maha Oya to Wahawa Hot Springs
Distance : 44 km
Travel time : 1 hours
Driving directions : see on google map
Distance : 36 km
Travel time : 45 mins
Driving directions : see on google map

© www.amazinglanka.com

0-09 m (87) 10-19 m (77) 20-29 m (46) 30-39 m (50) 40-49 m (24) 50-99 m (49) Ambalama (160) Ancient Anicuts (32) Articles (0) Asanaghara (8) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Articles (2) Attractions (223) Beaches (9) Biosphere Reserves (3) Botanical Gardens (4) Bridges (34) Cave Art (6) Caving (7) Churches (17) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Events (2) Flora and Fauna (73) Forts (49) Heritage (1624) Heritage Articles (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Springs (9) Hydro Heritage (85) Irrigation Articles (4) Islands (15) Kovils (25) Kuludage (11) Lighthouses (27) Memorials (51) Mile Posts (6) Mosques (3) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (20) Pabbatha Vihara (11) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscriptions (37) Pre Historic Burial Sites (19) Prehistory (38) Prehistory Articles (2) RAMSAR sites (6) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (46) Rock Inscriptions (8) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (25) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (11) Stone Bridges (18) Strict Nature Reserves (3) Sumaithangi (3) Survey Towers (13) Tampita Vihara (240) Tourist Attractions (97) Travel (3) View Points (18) Walawwa (12) War Memorials (23) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Articles (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (20) Ampara District (193) Anuradhapura District (211) Badulla District (118) Batticaloa District (22) Colombo District (76) Galle District (63) Gampaha District (59) Hambantota District (116) India (1) Jaffna District (72) Kalutara District (51) Kandy District (201) Kegalle District (158) Kilinochchi District (13) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (85) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (55) Kurunegala District (170) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (47) Mannar Island (10) Matale District (86) Matara District (44) Mihintale (22) Monaragala District (101) Mullaitivu District (21) Negombo (5) Nuwara Eliya District (117) Polonnaruwa District (119) Puttalam District (35) Ratnapura District (160) Trincomalee District (49) Vavuniya District (31) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) z Delft 1 (5) z Jaffna 1 (20) z Jaffna 2 (24) z Jaffna 3 (12)

Leave a Reply