Inguruwaththa Purana Tampita Viharaya – ඉඟුරුවත්ත පුරාණ ටැම්පිට විහාරය

RATE THIS LOCATION :1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (4 votes, average: 2.00 out of 5)

Inguruwaththa Purana Viharaya (Inguruwatta Purana Viharaya) is an ancient Buddhist temple with a Tampita Viharaya belonging to the Kandyan era. The temple lies between Rambukkana and Mawathagama, about 13 km off Rambukkana and 7 km off Mawathagama.  To reach the temple from Rambukkana take the Mawathagama road and travel about 9km passing Koshinna and Parape  and take the Watareka Road. Travel 2.2 km on this remote road until you reach Watareka Maha Vidyalaya. Take the road across the stream just in front of the school which leads to Inguruwatta Village. The temple lies 500 meters down this road.

A Tampita Viharaya is a structure built on a wooden platform which rests on number of stone stumps usually 3-4 feet high. The roof is held by a structure built of timber and the walls are generally made of wattle and daub. Walls inside the image chamber is more or less always covered in murals drawn mainly in Kandyan style.

The Tampita Viharaya at the Inguruwaththa Purana Viharaya is built on 2 feet 4 inches high 8 granite stumps during the era of king Kirthi Sri Rajasinghe (1747 – 1781). A circumambulating path is built around the image house protected by a half height wall. The path is narrow except at the front. Wooden pillars around the path holds the roof  tiled with flat clay tiles typical of roofs built during the Kandyan kingdom. A seated and a standing Buddha statue can be found inside the Image House. In addition  Inner and the outer walls of the image house are covered with murals.

This Tampita Viharaya was declared as an protected archaeological monument by the Department Archaeology by the gazette dated 6 June 2008 and describes as follows;

The Tampita vihare of Inguruwatta in the Grama Niladhari Division of Inguruwatta, in Mawathagama Divisional Secretary’s Division in Kurunegala District, North-Western Province.


  1. Anuradha, R.K.S. and Kumari , A.S. (2015) පෞරාණික ස්ථාන හා ස්මාරක – කුරුනෑගල දිස්ත්‍රික්කය. Colombo: Department of Archaeology Sri Lanka.
  2. Abeywardana, M.Y. (2008) “The Antiquities Ordinance (Chapter 188) ,” The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, 1553, p. 531.

Also See

Map of the Inguruwaththa Purana Tampita Viharaya

Please click on the button below to load the Dynamic Google Map (ගූගල් සිතියම් පහලින්)

The map above also shows other places of interest within a approximately 20 km radius of the current site. Click on any of the markers and the info box to take you to information of these sites

Zoom out the map to see more surrounding locations using the mouse scroll wheel or map controls.

Driving Directions to Inguruwaththa Purana Tampita Viharaya

Route from Rambukkana to Inguruwaththa Purana Tampita Viharaya

Though : Parape –
distance : 13 km
Travel time :30 mins
Time to spend : 20-30  mins
Driving directions : see on google map


0-09 m (79) 10-19 m (66) 20-29 m (41) 30-39 m (45) 40-49 m (23) 50-99 m (42) Ambalama (152) Ancient Anicuts (30) Ashtapala Bodhi (5) Attraction Article (3) Attractions (197) Beaches (6) Botanical Gardens (3) Bridges (34) Caving (4) Church (6) Cities (9) Destinations (16) Dethis Pala Bodhi (15) Devalaya (41) Flora and Fauna (43) Forts (48) Heritage (1604) Heritage Article (28) Historic Events (5) History (7) Hot Spring (9) Hydro Heritage (81) Irrigation Article (4) Islands (15) Kovil (25) Lighthouse (27) Memorial (28) Mile Posts (6) Museums (8) National Parks (22) over 100 m (14) Pabbatha Vihara (10) Personalities (7) Pillar/Slab Inscription (35) Pre Historic Burial Sites (18) Prehistory (37) Ravana (12) Reservoirs (43) Ruins in Wilpattu (5) Ruins in Yala (23) Santuaries (7) Sluice Gates (9) Stone Bridges (18) Survey Tower (13) Tampita Vihara (238) Travel (3) View Points (9) Walawwa (12) Waterfalls (375) Wildlife Article (24) Yathuru Pokuna (4)

Abhayagiri Monastery (19) Ampara District (124) Anuradhapura District (185) Avissawella (4) Badulla (2) Badulla District (102) Batticaloa District (19) Buttala (2) Colombo (5) Colombo District (62) Dambulla (5) Delft (5) Galle (1) Galle District (54) Gampaha District (35) Ganesh Kovil (1) Hambantota (4) Hambantota District (94) India (1) Jaffna (7) Jaffna District (54) Kalutara District (46) Kandy District (171) Kegalle District (106) Kilinochchi District (9) Kingdom of Anuradhapura (80) Kingdom of Kandy (14) Kingdom of Kotte (9) Kingdom of Polonnaruwa (56) Kurunegala (5) Kurunegala District (90) Maha Vihara (14) Mannar District (46) Mannar Island (10) Matale (3) Matale District (61) Matara District (26) Mihintale (22) Monaragala (5) Monaragala District (71) Mullaitivu District (19) Nuwara Eliya (8) Nuwara Eliya District (107) Panama (1) Polonnaruwa District (106) Puttalam District (24) RAMSAR site (2) Ratnapura (8) Ratnapura District (139) Tissamaharama (2) Trincomalee (7) Trincomalee District (43) Vavuniya District (27) waterfalls in Sinharaja (3) Wellawaya (6) Wewalwatta (4) Yala (1)